Morning folks, what a glorious morning we are having today. We are having our kitchen fitted this week, starting this morning so I’m taking five minutes to relax before it all kicks off.

As you know, one of my passions in life is jewellery. I love the stuff. Not just bling, not just expensive stuff, and certainly nothing ‘ordinary’. My favourite designer is Alex Monroe [I’ll do a post about him soon], but I’m always keeping an eye out for something new. I tend to go for silver, just because it’s more “me”, however, I love two tone jewellery. My jewellery also tends to be very delicate. I’ll introduce you to some of my pieces soon.

Something you may not know about me, is that I also love origami. I was taught origami when I was quite young, by a family friend. It is captivating, and the time tends to just fly by in a whirl of coloured paper and various instructions. This means, of course, that as soon as I discovered that there was a brand selling origami jewellery, I was in love.

Here is a link to their website :: Origami Jewellery

Here’s a little information from their bio ::

[I hope they don’t mind me stealing it…]

Since jewellery is in the spotlight of today’s lifestyle, « Claire & Arnaud », the French design friends founded their own brand “Origami Jewellery”, inspired by the beauty of Japanese creativity.

The inspiration came during a night in the winter when their friend Masayuki Muraki taught them the typical Japanese folding handcraft. Because of the endless possibilities and the pleasure of creating new origami, the game took all night long.

Creativity and the joy of trying out always new ways how to use the folding made “Claire & Arnaud” forget time. The idea of origami earrings was born.

Their first collection made with thread and paper had this beauty of the moment. But the splendour of the Japanese shapes deserves to combine them with precious materials like gold or silver.

To produce this collection the couple decided to go to Japan to look for manufacturers able to reproduce precisely the fragile shapes.

Since January 2008, “Claire & Arnaud” introduce their first collection of jewellery with the model Tsuru®, the symbol of peace in Japan.

Then, the rabbit, the deer, the triceratop and others joined the family.

The ORIGAMI JEWELLERY jewels are now available all over the world.

And here are some of my favourite pieces ::

Image


[Gold vermeil “diamond” ring]

Image

[Silver rabbit in a hoop]

Image

[Silver Pegasus]

Image

[Silver elephant bracelet]

Image

[Silver crane necklace] – this is the first thing I will get from Origami Jewellery. The crane is such an iconic thing to make in origami and something I have personally made, hundreds of times.

Image

[Silver rabbit necklace] – isn’t he just the cutest? He has such character.

Image

[Gold vermeil cat] – I think this one is amazing. I love cats. I love origami. It’s a match made in heaven.

Here is an origami cat from their website ::

Image

And there we have it. Once I have a piece in my own hands I will let you guys know. For now, with my kitchen being done, it’s going to be a while before I add any pretties to my jewellery box.

If you have a piece of this collection, please do let me know.

Bye for now!

